Thursday, October 25, 2007

South Carolina Proprietary Counties, 1682

(click image to enlarge)
In 1682, after the first hard years of settlement, the Proprietors ordered three counties laid out. Berkeley County, centering around Charleston, extended from the Stono River on the south to Seewee Creek (present-day Awendaw Creek) where it emptied into Bulls Bay on the north. Craven County lay north of Berkeley County, and below Berkeley, Colleton County extended to the Combahee River. Later, a fourth county, Granville, was laid out between the Combahee and the Savannah rivers.

(Source: South Carolina Department of Archives and History, )